After a Penalty
Hey, im new to lacrosse and i know everything i need to know except for the result of a penalty. after a penalty, does the play just resume right where the foul took place no matter how close to the goal it is, or what?
The location depends on the type of foul, where the foul occurred, and who fouled who.
I suggest you read the rule book for all of the scenarios, but here is start for you.
From the NCAA Rule Book:
"SECTION 3. When a foul occurs and the ball is in the offended team’s offensive half of the field, the ball shall be put in play by the team awarded the ball, at the spot where the ball was when play was suspended or laterally across the field outside the attack area.
When a foul occurs and the ball is in the offended team’s defensive half of the field and penalty time is to be served, the ball shall be awarded to any player of the offended team on its offensive side of the field.
When no penalty time is to be served, the ball will be put in play at the spot where the ball was when the whistle blew or 20 yards laterally from the goal.
(Exceptions: Rule 6-3. For simultaneous fouls for which time is to be served by each team, the ball will be put in play at the spot where the ball was when the whistle blew or 20 yards laterally from the goal.)"
Make sure you stop by NCAA.Org and get your copy of the rule book. Read the rule book for all of the various combinations of scenarios and don't forget the slow whistle rules whenever the attacking team is fouled while on the attack.
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask Lacrosse Questions.
© Copyright & Trademark ™ - 2007-2015 SimplyLacrosse.com ™
simplylacrosse.com™ - Stickbrain™ - Stickbrain Village™ - Stickbrain Lacrosse™ - Stickbrain Exchange™ - Stickbrain Apparel™ - Lacrosse Mall™ - are all trademarks of SimplyPublications and SimplyLacrosse.com
This site is Powered by: